

2019 ONTARIO SQUASH HALL OF FAME INDUCTION CEREMONY

19 October 2019, Toronto

The Ontario Squash Hall of Fame Board of Governors is pleased to announce that the 2019 Ontario Squash Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held on **Thursday**, **April 4th at the Granite Club**, **2350 Bayview Avenue**, **Toronto**.

The Board is also pleased to extend an invitation to the Ontario squash community to submit nominations for the Hall of Fame in the categories of:

- 1. Player
- 2. Builder
 - Single Role: Volunteer Leader or Coach or Official (Referee)
 - Dual Role: Player/Volunteer Leader or Player/Coach or Player/Official (Referee)

Honoured Members of the Ontario Squash Hall of Fame

Players

Sharif Khan, Jonathon Power, Heather Wallace, Ernest Howard, Gerald Shugar, Donald Leggat, Gary Waite, Gordon Anderson, Graham Ryding, Jay Gillespie, Melanie Jans, Victor Harding

Builders

Ian Stewart, Susan Swift, Jack Fairs, Jim Mason, Anne Smith, Barney Lawrence, Tony Swift, Frank Baillie, Peter Hall, Mark Sachvie, Jim Kenward, Rob Brooks

Player/Coach (New Category Created in 2017)

Barbara Cooper



Eligibility for Nomination to the Ontario Squash Hall of Fame

Player

- Any Ontario resident who has achieved extraordinary success as a competitor in amateur or professional squash. Player nominees shall not be considered until after a two (2) year waiting period following retirement from major <u>open</u> championship competition.
- Any player and/or builder who has been inducted into the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame is automatically eligible for induction into the Ontario Squash Hall of Fame provided they meet the Ontario residency requirements.

Builder

• Any Ontario resident who has made an extraordinary contribution to the game in a singular role as a volunteer leader, coach or official (referee); or a dual role as a player/volunteer leader, player/coach or player/official (referee).

Nominations

Nominations are now open for the 2019 Ontario Squash Hall of Fame Inductions. **All nominations must be received no later than 7 January 2019.**

Attached is the Official Nomination information requirements but you may also download the form at http://ontariosquashhalloffame.com/nominationform/

Ontario Squash Hall of Fame Board of Governors

Anne Smith, Chair Robert Brooks Sherry Funston Penny Glover Peter Hall Tony Swift